National Track League Banner


Hub City Classic joins NTL

October 5, 2011 - Read more...

Inaugural NTL a smashing success

July 15, 2011 - Read more...

2011 NTL Champions

July 14, 2011 - Read more...

NTL Final today in Toronto

July 13, 2011 - Read more...

10 National Track League Champs crowned

July 13, 2011 - Read more...

10 National Track League Champs crowned in Toronto

July 13, 2011

Toronto – In front of a near capacity crowd at Varsity Centre ten National Track League (NTL) champions were crowned tonight at the Toronto International Track + Field Games.  With points doubled on the final stop of the NTL circuit plenty of drama unfolded on the track, and in the field.  The NTL winners were presented with championship trophies and will receive a $4,000 cash prize.

Scott Russell of Windsor, Ont., secured both his ticket to Korea and NTL title.  Russell unleashed a bomb on his third throw setting a new Canadian record along the way.  His throw of 84.81-metres was well above the World Championship A standard of 82.00-metres. 

In the women’s hurdles Phylicia George of Markham, Ont., nipped Perdita Felicien of Pickering, Ont., at the line to take the NTL title in this event and the race.   Her time of 12.87 seconds was just slightly ahead of Felicien’s 12.88.

Final NTL standings

NTL Standing. Name, NTL score (NTL Finale performance) Hometown

Women’s 400m

1.Amonn Nelson, 27pts (1st, 52.76) Calgary, Alta.
2.Esther Akinsulie, 26pts (2nd, 52.93) Ottawa, Ont.
3.Adrienne Power, 26pts (3rd, 52.99) Halifax, N.S.

Women’s Running Room 800m

1.Lemlem Ogbasilassie, 30pts (2nd, 2:04.07) Montreal, Que.
2.Karine Belleau-Beliveau, 24pts (3rd, 2:04.67) Montreal, Que.
3.Melissa Bishop, 17 pts (5th, 2 :05.42) Eganville, Ont.

Women’s 100m Hurdles

1.Phylicia George, 36pts (1st, 12.87) Markham, Ont.  
2.Nikkita Holder, 21pts (3rd, 13.02) Pickering, Ont.
3.Perdita Felicien, 20pts (2nd, 12.88) Pickering, Ont.

Women’s Long Jump

1.Krysha Bayley, 32pts (1st, 6.53m) Edmonton, Alta.
2.Ruky Abdulai, 18pts (2nd, 6.37m) Coquitlam, B.C.
3.Alice Falaiye, 13pts (4th, 5.99m) Brampton, Ont.

Women’s Hammer Throw

1.Heather Steacy, 30pts (1st, 69.34m) Lethbridge, Alta.
2.Sultana Frizell, 28pts (2nd, 67.81m) Perth, Ont.
3.Crystal Smith, 27pts (4th, 64.56m) Creston, B.C.

Men’s 100m

1.Justyn Warner, 36pts (4th, 10.44) Markham, Ont.
2.Michael LeBlanc, 5pts (7th, 10.88) Riverview, N.B.

Men’s 200m

1.Bryan Barnett, 24pts (1st, 20.86) Edmonton, Alta.
2.Jared Connaughton, 20pts (2nd, 20.88) New Haven, P.E.I.
3.Dontae Richards-Kwok, 14pts (5th, 21.37) Mississauga, Ont.

Men’s Timex 1500m

1.Kyle Boorsma, 27pts (4th, 3:42.14) Guelph, Ont.
2.Anthony Berkis, 20pts (5th, 3:43.14) Oshawa, Ont.
3.Peter Corrigan, 18pts (6th, 3:44.06) Kamloops, B.C.

Men's Javelin

1.Scott Russell 38pts (1st, 84.81m) Windsor, Ont.
2.Kyle Nielsen, 28pts (3rd, 74.16m) Langley, B.C.
3.Caleb Jones, 24pts (5th, 66.63m) Saint John, N.B.

Men’s High Jump

1.Mark Dillon, 26pts (3rd, 2.15m) Toronto, Ont.
2.Derek Watkins, 24pts (5th, 2.10m) Windsor, Ont.


Running Room TimexNike Sport Canada IAAF